Skip to content
Curtin University
Transnational Teaching and Learning


Curtin University

Curtin University is Western Australia’s largest university, with more than 47,000 students. Of these, about 19,400 are international students, and more than 2,000 are research students. The University takes its name from the former prime minister of Australia from 1941 to 1945, John Curtin, and its values reflect the leadership and strength associated with one of Australia’s pre-eminent prime ministers.
Curtin is an internationally focused institution which offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses in business, humanities, health sciences, resources, engineering and related sciences. A culturally diverse university, Curtin fosters tolerance and encourages the development of the individual. A combination of first-rate resources, staff and technology makes Curtin a major contributor to tertiary education, both within Australia and internationally.

Curtin has close links with business, industry, government and the community, and its courses have a strong practical focus, with many involving vocational or work experience components. As a result, Curtin graduates are job-ready andprepared, with skills that enable them to make a genuine and positive influence in a continuously changing world.

The University of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide is one of Australia's leading research-intensive universities and is consistently ranked among the top 1% of universities in the world. Established in 1874, it is Australia's third oldest university with a strong reputation for research and teaching excellence and producing graduates that make an impact on the world - Life Impact.

The University has produced 105 Rhodes Scholars, including Australia's first Indigenous winner, 105 Fulbright Scholars and three Nobel Laureates - as well as two more among existing and former staff. There are more than 25,000 students with 30 per cent of them international students from more than 90 countries.

The University of Western Australia

The University of Western Australia (UWA) is one of Australia’s leading universities and has an international reputation for excellence in teaching, learning and research. A dynamic and progressive university, UWA is a member of the prestigious Group of Eight partnership of leading research-intensive Australian universities.

UWA was Western Australia's first university and the first free University in the British Empire, enrolling its first students in 1913. It now has almost 24,000 students enrolled across nine faculties.
The University of Western Australia has introduced a new streamlined and flexible curriculum, preparing graduates for the challenges of a changing world. The model of broad undergraduate studies followed by a postgraduate professional qualification is designed to produce well-rounded graduates, as well as provide additional entry opportunities for a wider range of students.

Victoria University

Victoria University (VU) is located in Melbourne, Australia. It was established as a university in 1990, but its predecessor institutions date back to 1916.

Today, more than 51,000 students are enrolled at the University, including more than 4000 international students studying onshore and 9000 studying at offshore partner institutions.
Victoria University is one of only five multi-sector universities in Australia offering further, vocational and higher education courses, which range from certificates through to doctorates.

Victoria University believes that a great education needs new ways of thinking, and this drives the University’s search for innovative teaching and learning strategies. Courses are informed by industry and community stakeholders to ensure courses teach what industries need. At least 25 per cent of student assessment is through learning in the workplace and/or community.
The University has 10 campuses across Melbourne. Three are in Melbourne’s central business district, and the remaining are spread across Melbourne’s western suburbs.

Support for this publication/activity has been provided by the Australian Government Office for Learning and Teaching. The views expressed in this publication/activity do not necessarily reflect the views of the Australian Government Office for Learning and Teaching.